Yarn Along: Same Socks, More Books

IMG_1488

My Almondine socks are slowly making progress with number one complete and number two taking shape. The pattern itself is easy and quick–a great introduction to following a chart and knitting a lace motif. However, I find I’m not an avid summer knitter. Summer seems to fly so fast, and this summer was especially busy with a up North cottage vacation, dear friends visiting for two weeks, a camping trip to Algonquin, and some more exciting summer events. My failure to post is due to all these fun escapades.

I have a collection of books lined up for the remainder of the summer. I received a beautiful book containing Alexandre Dumas’s Three Musketeers and Twenty Years After as a graduation gift and have recently begun the first few pages of the former, trying not to be daunted by it’s length.

I also checked out The Bride of Lammermoor from the library, as I have never officially completed a novel of Scot’s, having begun Ivanhoe a couple of years ago and never finishing it. It is by the way, still on my list of books to read.

The Last of the Mochicans has made it into my stack, as have two more recent novels, Flight of the Sparrow, and a novel of a whole different genre, The Spy who came in from the Cold. I have never read spy fiction before, but after watching The Bridge of Spies, I was intrigued and wanted to try this novel set in the Cold War.

I am looking forward to reading and finishing my socks, which I hope is soon. At least before September so I can wear them when the chill comes.

Joining Ginny for Yarn Along.

 

10 thoughts on “Yarn Along: Same Socks, More Books

  1. Your socks are gorgeous! The look so perfect for fall!
    It sounds like you are going for classics. I feel like I’d love to do that – I would love to be a person who is “well-read” and I just don’t seem to have the brain power these days.

    Like

  2. Those socks are turning out wonderfully! And I love that quilt. There are so many greats from classic literature, that’s awesome that you are working your way though some of them. But don’t feel badly if some get abandoned. Not every classic is going to resonate with you. Your post has shown me that I haven’t read any spy fiction, either! I hope you’ll let us know your thought on The Spy Who Came in from the Cold. I would love someone to recommend a really good ‘first’ spy thriller.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I wish I could say I made the quilt–but it was bought at a warehouse. I attempted The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, however I didn’t understand what was going on so it is back in the library. Thank you for visiting my blog. I love your blog and photography. Photography is something I would like to learn.

      Like

  3. Oh my what beautiful socks you are making! I am in the process of my first pair of socks and using a knit-along from Craftsy along with the pattern (thank goodness). They are going with me everywhere because it takes so long to make anything on size 1 needles! I seem to drop off stitches and have to fix it a lot. Yours are gorgeous, however and I can’t wait to see them done.

    Like

  4. Thank you! This is my first time knitting with size one needles, and I understand about dropping stitches. My first Almondine sock was ripped out a couple of times as I got used to the needles and following a chart. I’ve found when I go from knitting with bigger needles (like I’m doing now–size eight for a different project) and then go back to the size one my hands feel too big for the needles. I love the yarn and design you chose for your socks. I love knitting socks too, but I would like to learn the technique of knitting two socks at once, because I sort of feel like I have ‘second sock syndrome’. (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

