Yarn Along: Cabled Capelet & War and Peace

IMG_0108

Joining Ginny this Wednesday for my very first Yarn Along post.

I am currently approaching the grand finale of War and Peace. I must say, I am enjoying this massive piece of literature, and am totally engrossed in the personal story lines and development of the characters and their love interests. However, tackling the intense descriptions of various battles is somewhat a harder undertaking.

I just recently completed my third Cabled Capelet and so will be using the pictures for this post. The pattern I used came with the yarn, and is very easy and relaxing to knit, with the cabled section showing up quite nicely.

My first attempt didn’t turn out, due to the lack of right needles for the cowl (for some strange reason I couldn’t find US 13 (9mm) double-pointed needles in the stores and had to order online) and not decreasing the correct number of stitches around.

I have since then made two more capelets, each in a different colour: one as a belated Christmas present for my Mom, and the other for my Aunt Ali. The one featured here is Aunt Ali’s, though Mom is also pictured in hers.

 

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along: Cabled Capelet & War and Peace

  1. I have not read War and Peace but I did watch a BBC version of it on Lifetime TV (of all places) a few months ago and I loved it. I am not a crier at all but I cried my eyes out at the end of this story. I am waiting patiently for it to be released on DVD. I may need to read the book in the meantime. Link to the 2016 BBC version http://www.amazon.com/War-Peace-Lily-James/dp/B01CRURRKG/ref=sr_1_1?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1461767362&sr=1-1&keywords=war+and+peace+2016+dvd

    Like

    1. I’ve never seen any of the movies before, so the storyline is all new to me. I didn’t realize when I decided to tackle War and Peace that BBC was releasing a new mini-series this year. Hope to watch it too. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

